The Real Otaku Blues

John Edgar Wideman was once a black teen who stated that he listened to Blues music.  When a white teen successfully challenged his definition of Blues (“Midnighters.  Drifters.  Ray Charles,”) Wideman’s response was incoherent rage.  He wrote later,

Who was I? What was I? Did I really fear the truth about myself that much? Four hundred years of oppression, of lies had empowered him to use the music of my people as a weapon against me . . . I should have smacked him. I should have affirmed another piece of the truth he knew about me, the nigger violence. – John Edgar Wideman, Brothers and Keepers

For him, the definition of Blues was not a matter of semantics.  It was a primal expression of cultural identity – by blacks, for blacks.  For a non-black to attempt to contradict his definition of Blues was a blasphemy.  It challenged his core beliefs.

Otaku Elimination have decreed that only “true otaku” know the true meaning of Otaku, and those they consider non-otaku have no right to speculate about use of the term.

It’s quite humourous that people with no real credibility are trying to tell us what’s what in terms of Otaku. Take Moritheil for example, since when were you otaku? – otakuelimination

The parallels are intriguing.  I will leave speculation on whether or not OEG is similarly undergoing some sort of identity crisis in more capable hands.

Who the fuck gave those people rights to determine who’s Otaku and who’s not? – rayyhum777

Published in: on December 24, 2009 at 3:46 AM  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://moritheil.wordpress.com/2009/12/24/the-real-otaku-blues/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Aniblogger: “Look ima otaku!”
    OEG: “Nuh-uh!”
    Aniblogger: “yeah huh!”
    OEG: “NUH-UH!! NOT TIL I SAY SO!!!”

    And here I thought I’d be done listening to these infantile debates when I left elementary school.

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by . said: […]

  3. I will leave speculation on whether or not OEG is similarly undergoing some sort of identity crisis in more capable hands.

    The plot thickens.


Leave a Reply

