Otaku Impurity

Kairu reminded me that I’ve never actually taken this:

Otaku Purity Test Results

You answered “yes” to 103 of 200 questions, making you 48.5% otaku pure (51.5% otaku corrupt).
Your Weirdness Factor (AKA Uniqueness Factor) is 27%, based on a comparison of your test results with 91823 other submissions for this test.
The average purity for this test is 66.4%.
The first submission for this test was received August 5, 1998.

You actually have to be old-school to qualify for some of these (I remember Anime Turnpike, but it predates a whole generation of anime otaku. I’m not sure that makes them any less rabid anime otaku.)  Of course, we now have more current efforts to determine purity in the aniblogosphere, but perhaps this will provide a necessary frame of reference: there has always been, and probably always will be, a normative force in any subculture that seeks “purity.”

Published in: on December 10, 2009 at 7:16 PM  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://moritheil.wordpress.com/2009/12/10/otaku-impurity/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Q. 78 on the test … I used to answer Yes but now No, because HDD sizes has skyrocketed since I last took the test (probably around ’99)

  2. I say this every time someone mentions the test, but as you know, it’s really outdated. I know that’s not the point, but I can’t help but cringe at the assumption that all anime are shounen or magical girl. Everyone knows it’s about moe, meta comedy, and bishounen mecha nowadays!

  3. Have tested myself after Kairu mentioned it, fun thing I must say. Sounds outdated (and is so too) but still fun. I got 78.5%, and the a bit weird way of forming words there doesn’t let me know if that ‘pure’ is good or bad.

  4. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Mori, Rick F. Barnes. Rick F. Barnes said: Otaku Impurity « The Moritheil Review http://bit.ly/4ZkMPQ […]

  5. […] Moritheil (12/10/2009) […]

  6. Whoa this quiz is something I also remember taking in the hey day… hahahahaha.. but yah.. I retook it.. and got this..

    59.0% otaku pure (41.0% otaku corrupt). But yeah I also wrote a comment back with Kairu. ^_^


Leave a Reply

