The Rape of the Lock

Of late, Twitter has started to kick it old-school. The topic? Locked tweets.  From hinano to thaliarchus, CrimsonRaven to lelangir, it has become fashionable to place limits on who views one’s tweeting.

The Peer now spreads the glittering Forfex wide,
T’ inclose the Lock; now joins it, to divide.
Ev’n then, before the fatal Engine clos’d,
A wretched Sylph too fondly interpos’d;
Fate urged the Sheers, and cut the Sylph in twain,
(But Airy Substance soon unites again)
The meeting Points the sacred Hair dissever
From the fair Head, for ever and for ever!

As Kabitzin put it, “Love and Twitter are two-way streets.”  Ironically, he has locked his twitter account as well.  Reactions to private twitters remain mixed.  Are they another form of anime elitism?  Are they merely ways for authors to take closer control of dissemination of their own work?  Will the world truly be the same without juicy tweets being public by default?

wildarmsheero I think I hear people fucking in the next room

wildarmsheero Or that could just be a crying baby; I can’t tell!!

The debate rages.  Meanwhile, rumors of an OAV based on Alexander Pope’s work remain unsubstantiated.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://moritheil.wordpress.com/2009/05/07/the-rape-of-the-lock/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. In a vain attempt to fight the spammers and pervs, I locked my account. Apparently, the spammers are still trying to follow, but people talking about toilets and their body parts (account blessedly closed) start following me, I just get irritated. I find it easier to control the masses with a locked account, though I am not completely happy with it. We shall see if I change back or not.

  2. Fashionable?

    • It’s the term I use when people start following others into an activity.

  3. I tried locking my twitter.. but because of a widget on blog…. had to unlock it. Ugh. still contemplate on locking or not…>_<

    • You can always do what I did, and create a new Twitter just for your blog. That way, you can have your locked account, and an unlocked one to announce new blog posts.


Leave a Reply

